List of Universities and Colleges In South Africa

List of Universities and Colleges In South Africa

List of Universities and Colleges In South Africa – see the list of tertiary institutions in South Africa…

Public universities in South Africa

There are 26 public universities distributed across all 9 provinces in South Africa. Public universities in South Africa are divided into three types: traditional universities, which offer theoretically-oriented university degrees; universities of technology (“technikons”), which offer vocational oriented diplomas and degrees; and comprehensive universities, which offer a combination of both types of qualification.

The three types of Public universities in South Africa are:

1. Traditional Universities: These Universities provide theoretically-oriented university degree programmes. Check out Traditional Universities in South Africa below:

2. Universities of Technology (“Technikons”): These Universities provide vocational oriented diploma and degree programmes. Check Universities of Technology in South Africa below:


3. Comprehensive Universities: These Universities provide a combination of both traditional Universities qualifications and Universities of Technology qualifications. Check Out Comprehensive Universities in South Africa below:



Private Universities and Colleges in South Africa

List of Universities in South Africa, Following are the Private Universities and Colleges in South Africa-
  • Auckland Park Theological Seminary
  • Baptist Theological College of Southern Africa
  • Boston City Campus and Business College
  • Cornerstone Institute
  • St Augustine College of South Africa
  • Varsity College
  • Milpark Business School
  • IMM Graduate School of Marketing
  • Inscape Design College
  • Stenden University South Africa
  • Management College of Southern Africa
  • Monash South Africa University
  • George Whitefield College
  • Regenesys Business School
  • Oval Education International
  • Midrand Graduate Institute
  • Qualitas Career Academy
  • South African Theological Seminary
  • Doxa Deo School of Divinity
  • CTI Education Group
  • Damelin

Tvet Colleges in South Africa

What exactly is TVET?
Further Education and Training (FET) Colleges are now referred to as Technical Vocational and Training (TVET) colleges, this is due to an amendment made to Section 26 of the FET Amendment Act, 2013 (Act No. 1 of 2013). The concept of TVET has been introduced into the South African education and training industry as part of a drive to provide high-quality education and training that offers a wide range of learning options.

The programmes presented at False Bay TVET College are accredited by Sector Education and Training Authorities. Consult our Course pages for the relevant accreditation details



  • Buffalo City TVET College
  • Eastcape Midlands TVET College
  • Ingwe TVET College
  • King Hintsa TVET College
  • King Sabata Dalindyebo TVET College
  • Lovedale TVET College
  • Port Elizabeth TVET College


  • Flavius Mareka TVET College
  •  Goldfields TVET College
  •  Maluti TVET College
  •  Motheo TVET College


  • Central Johannesburg TVET College
  • Ekurhuleni West TVET College
  • Ekurhuleni East TVET College
  • South West Gauteng TVET College
  • Tshwane North TVET College
  •  Tshwane South TVET College
  •  Western TVET College
  • Sedibeng TVET College


  • Coastal TVET College
  •  Elangeni TVET College
  • Esayidi TVET College
  • Majuba TVET College
  • Mnambithi TVET College
  • Mthashana TVET College
  •  Thekwini TVET College
  • Umfolozi TVET College
  • Umgungundlovu TVET College


  • Capricorn TVET College
  • Lephalale TVET College
  •  Letaba TVET College
  •  Mopani South East TVET College
  •  Sekhukhune TVET College
  •  Vhembe TVET College
  •  Waterberg TVET College


  • Ehlanzeni TVET College
  •  Gert Sibande TVET College
  •  Nkangala TVET College


  • Northern Cape Rural TVET College
  • Northern Cape Urban TVET College


  • ORBIT TVET College
  • Taletso TVET College
  • Vuselela TVET College


  • Boland TVET College
  • College of Cape Town for TVET
  • False Bay TVET College
  • Northlink TVET College
  • South Cape TVET College
  • West Coast TVET College